Artist/Naturalist Andy Goldsworthy

It seems like any time an art teacher wants to introduce environmental art into their curriculum, they inevitably bring Andy Goldsworthy into their lessons. Although I really WANT to dislike the work of Artist/Naturalist Andy Goldsworthy, due to the fact that he seems to be frequently thought of as THE FACE of environmental art, I must confess, his work is absolutely fantastic!

Every time I look at one of his ephemeral works, I am in awe at the power and beauty of nature! In truth, he is an incredible model for environmental art. In his own words:

“Movement, change, light, growth and decay are the lifeblood of nature, the energies that I try to tap through my work. I need the shock of touch, the resistance of place, materials and weather, the earth as my source. Nature is in a state of change and that change is the key to understanding. I want my art to be sensitive and alert to changes in materials, season and weather. Each work grows, stays, decays. Process and decay are implicit. Transience in my work reflects what I find in nature.”

Check out this website to view more of Andy Goldsworthy’s works and to read more of his reflections on his art and creative processes!

2 thoughts on “Artist/Naturalist Andy Goldsworthy

Leave a Reply

