DAY THREE: Nature Art Challenge!

Today is another peaceful, beautiful rainy day! So, with umbrella in hand, I headed out my front door this morning to hunt for some inspiration. Not even 10 feet away from my doorstep, I came across this odd little mushroom that had split, creating a flower-like shape to its surface. Sitting right next to the mushroom (which was uprooted and resting on its side), I noticed a tiny shell. As soon as I had noticed this shell, I suddenly became aware of other similar shells. Thus began my search for shells–and the start to my environmental art of the day!

Here is my resulting work:

One of the really special moments resulting from this particular work was an interaction I had with a neighbor while I was picking up shells. Walking past me, he suddenly stopped and asked, “Are you looking for something?” I responded, “Yes! I’m collecting these awesome little shells. They’re everywhere!” He gave me THAT look…you know, the “this girl is CRAZY” look, and then headed inside. A few minutes later, he headed out again to check his mail. On his way back, he stopped in front of me and, excitedly announced, “Hey–thanks A LOT! Because of you and your SHELLS, I spent the entire walk to the mail room searching for little shells! I didn’t find any shells, but I thought you might like to know that their are some really shiny rocks right outside the mailroom!”

That interaction in-and-of-itself made today’s challenge worth the effort. My own interest in the tiny details of the natural world inspired this man to open his eyes and take a closer look at the natural beauty around our little apartment complex.

I hope you all have a wonderful Saturday! If you are able, try to make a little time in your day to step outside and enjoy the beauty of the ever-changing world around you.

‘Til tomorrow…Happy Explorations!

 

 

8 thoughts on “DAY THREE: Nature Art Challenge!

    • Thanks! I loved discovering those little shells–I’m still on the lookout for them every time I step out my front door!

      That particular work is sort of underneath the stairwell, so it’s likely he’s walked past it at least once in the last couple of days!

Leave a Reply

