Back just in time…

Apologies for once again neglecting my blog for a couple weeks! As seems to have become a trend over the last couple of months, I am back once again to begin posting ideas related to my upcoming Nature Art Challenge!

Although I haven’t been adding new posts to my blog since my most recent challenge, I DO have an exciting update to share with you before launching into talking about artful explorations and March’s Nature Art Challenge! The most exciting of these updates is that my proposal to teach an “Artful Explorations in Nature” course has been accepted! So, in the next few months I will be posting details regarding that course in case you or anyone you know in the Austin area would be interested in attending! It will only be a 4-week course. However, it will include several field trips to natural areas around Austin. The course will be an extension of the same sorts of activities discussed in my blog, including:

-Nature Sketching

-Environmental Art

-Textural Paint Rubbings

-Nature Photography

…plus more!

I’m very excited–the course should be a lot of fun!

Now, onto the Nature Art Challenge! Beginning this Thursday, March 1 through Thursday, March 8, I will be focusing on exploring the environment through PAINTING! So, have your brush, palette, and canvas ready! It should prove to be a very interesting–and enlightening challenge! For those of you who have never worked with paint before, I would recommend the following supplies:

-acrylic, tempera, or watercolor paint (water-based is key)

-brushes (of various sizes/shapes)

-container for water

-apron or paint-friendly clothes

-towel

Depending on the type of paint you decide to use, I would recommend the following surfaces:

-Canvas

-Watercolor paper

-Cloth/Wood/Mixed Media Surface (best for use with acrylic or tempera paint)

Well, I think that’s enough information to throw at you today! Tomorrow I will begin posting lesson ideas, artists’ work, and tips/suggestions associated with the upcoming challenge!

‘Til tomorrow…happy explorations!

2 thoughts on “Back just in time…

    • Thanks! I’ll also be speaking at an upcoming conference for art educators–another great opportunity to increase environmental awareness and appreciation through art making! 🙂

Leave a Reply

