One Million Bones!

Well, once again I have fallen out of the blogging world, only to return again just in time for the next month’s challenge. Over the last 5 months, I have been incredibly busy with my student teaching semester/certification testing. Although I have previously taught art, I was never officially certified, so I am definitely looking forward to returning to the art classroom after a 3-year hiatus for grad school/certification! That being said, the month of May should be a little better for me in terms of posting, and June will be even better!

Before we launch into May’s Nature Art Challenge, I wanted to tell y’all a little about what this incredible event that my high school art students and I participated in this afternoon! Although it strays a little from the topic of my blog, I thought it too cool to not share 🙂

This spring, a group of students from The University of Texas at Austin decided to participate in the One Million Bones project, a large scale, nationwide installation project initiated by artist Naomi Natale. According to the website, “One Million Bones is a large-scale social arts practice, which means we use education and hands-on artmaking to raise awareness of genocides and atrocities going on around the world this very day.” Through mini-installations, such as the one that I participated in this afternoon, they are planning to collect one million handmade bones. These bones will be installed on the National Mall in Washington, D.C. in the spring of 2013. To read more about this project, check out the website. There is a very touching video of a 50,000 bone installation that was done in Albuquerque–I would highly recommend watching it!

Here are a few shots from the installation at the Texas State Capitol (about 2,500 bones):

Wow. What a powerful installation…and I can only imagine how impacting the 2013 installation will be! I was so humbled and moved to be a part of  the Austin installation–and I know my students were absolutely thrilled to be a part of something like this. If you get the chance, seriously, check out the One Million Bones website–and let me know what you think of this installation and the national one coming up in 2013!

Tomorrow I’ll begin posting information regarding May’s Nature Art Challenge…should be another interesting time of exploration!

‘Til then…happy explorations!

5 thoughts on “One Million Bones!

  1. Thank you so much for posting this blog and for your enthusiasm and commitment to supporting this project. On behalf of everyone at One Million Bones we are humbled and honored to have you and your students on this journey with us! The pics for Austin are so inspiring!!!

    • Naomi,

      I am so honored by your comment on my post–and plan to share your kind words with my students tomorrow morning! Everyone was so incredibly moved during the ceremony yesterday in Austin–even complete strangers to the project eagerly participated! I know my students loved feeling like they were part of something that was making a difference–through ART!

      I can only imagine the impact that the 2013 One Million Bones installation will bring! Thank you for all your hard work–and know that many lives were touched in Austin yesterday!

Leave a Reply

