Nature Crochet Art Challenge: DAY TWO!

Today was an absolutely gorgeous, Wyoming day! Today’s weather report:  mid to high 70’s, slightly cloudy, and a 99.9% chance of wind (which I’m still coming to terms with…).

Rather than taking a walk, as I had discussed in yesterday’s post, I decided to bust out my bike for a Tour de Cheyenne! My husband, a Wyoming native, told me about this trail called The Greenway, which is comprised of chunks of paved pedestrian/bike trails that run throughout the city! Here’s a description, taken from Cheyenne’s Official Website:

“The Greenway serves as a safe and accessible recreational corridor; a key component of the non-motorized transportation system; an open-air science, ecology, history, and health classroom for students of all ages; and a vital public space integral in building sustainable, vibrant and healthy neighborhoods and a cohesive community. The man made and natural barriers that traditionally divide a community are the same corridors the Greater Cheyenne Greenway has employed to connect neighborhoods, school districts, and socio-economic divides.”

With camera in tow, I headed off to explore a small section of The Greenway! Since my bike is in desperate need of some TLC…and rust remover (thank you Austin humidity), I kept the ride to 4-5 miles, occasionally stopping to take a few shots of the beauty around me. Here are a few shots from my ride:

In addition to taking in the sites around me, I paid careful attention to the sounds (birds, wind, squeaky bike), feels (wind in my face), and smells (unfortunately my allergies made everything smell like dust!).

After returning from my explorations, I decided to add to the surface of my crocheted canvas! Inspired by the wind, I added windy patterns to my work. Here is the result:

For tomorrow’s explorations, use today’s excursion to inspire your composition. If you sketched some ideas today, work off of those sketches to create a simplified plan for your canvas. Once you have finished your proposed design, select the colors of yarn that you will need for your design. 

‘Til tomorrow…happy explorations!

One thought on “Nature Crochet Art Challenge: DAY TWO!

Leave a Reply

