Nature Crochet Art Challenge: DAY SEVEN!

Rain!

Although it only lasted a few minutes, the overcast, rainy day gave me a great excuse to make art and relax! AND–as an added bonus, my father-in-law showed me how to make my own yogurt (which, turns out, isn’t quite as complicated as I imagined!)

By tomorrow morning, this will be thick and ready to eat! Yum!

Although the rain slightly deterred me from my initial brainstormings for a frame, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that my father-in-law had a box of branches in his garage! Perfect! So, with a newspaper spread on the table, I attached my crocheted canvas to 4 branches. Here are the results from today’s explorations:

Another successful and interesting nature challenge in the bag! I hope you all enjoyed this challenge as much as I did. Working with yarn in crochet embroidery has definitely given me other ideas for similar projects–and this challenge provided a most excellent chance for me to explore the natural beauty of windy Wyoming!

As always, if anyone decided to give this challenge a shot, I’d love to see your resulting works or hear your insights!

To close this post, I’d like to share another work that I recently created, using the same multimedia recycled art techniques I talked about a few days ago! For this canvas, I recycled pages from an old math book (gotta love math!) and attached my cardboard cut-outs to the surface using painter’s tape.

I then sponge painted over the top of the canvas, which I found to be less time-consuming than using a brush. Here is the finished piece:

For more detailed instructions on this process, check out my post from a couple of days ago!

‘Til later..happy explorations!

9 thoughts on “Nature Crochet Art Challenge: DAY SEVEN!

  1. Your crochet project came out beautifully. I really like the wind swirls superimposed on the background. They give a great texture and add visual interest! Using the sticks for the frame is a great idea too! I also really love the dandelion newspaper collage! Thanks so much for sharing your techniques.

    • Thanks! I really enjoyed the crochet art project–and look forward to seeing yours if you end up giving this a try over the summer! I’m glad my blog is able to inspire you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

