Banana Bread and Watercolor Paint! (not together..)

Mmmm… today has been a good day. Not JUST because THIS delicious thing just came out of the oven, but also because it has been a day of relaxed, stress-free productivity! Don’t you love days like that? Especially when you’re actively doing things that you WANT to be doing! Thank you, summer vacation!

So, that being said, I’ve decided to make the most of my motivation and give my blog a little TLC! It’s been several weeks since my last post, but those weeks have been put to great use! Over the last few weeks, I have been working on a series of mixed media paintings (fun!) and also managed to order new business cards! Here’s one of my most recent works:

My creativity is now running on full, ready for the coming Nature Art Challenge!!

For July’s challenge, we will be exploring the natural world through WATERCOLOR PAINTING! Since I will be leaving for a trip at the end of next week, the challenge will begin tomorrow, Friday, June 29, and last through Thursday, July 5th. As always, if you do not have the supplies for this challenge, you are welcome to follow along with me and then try your own challenge at a later time!

I’m really excited about this particular challenge, as I have not explored watercolor painting much myself! Something about the loose, free-flowing nature of watercolor painting freaks me out! So, this should prove to be an interesting challenge!

If you are not familiar with watercolor painting, here is an excellent website that demonstrates some techniques that might come in handy for the challenge!

For tomorrow’s challenge, EXPLORE YOUR MEDIUM! On a piece of thicker paper (watercolor or mixed media paper preferred, but cardstock–or even plain old computer paper would work too) explore Flat WashesGraded Washes, and Glazed Washes. While the first  two days of this challenge will not involve outdoor exploration, they will provide the foundation for the remainder of the challenges explorations!

‘Til tomorrow…happy explorations!

2 thoughts on “Banana Bread and Watercolor Paint! (not together..)

  1. Looking forward to the watercolors. I’m kinda disappointed that the banana bread and painting were’t combined. 😉 Painting with banana bread sounds fun – loads of texture. LOL

Leave a Reply

