Nature Watercolor Challenge: DAY FIVE!

With every new challenge comes the risk of failure. No, failure is too strong of a word. The word FAILURE would suggest that the end result has no redeeming value; the word FAILURE has no place in the art world. So rather, let me say “With every new challenge comes the opportunity for GROWTH.

Today’s challenge proved to be one of those “growth opportunities.” I say that because the result, while successful, was very different from the one that I had pictured in my head. That being said–if I were to do this challenge again, I would change the following things:

1.) Use a thinner paper (or canvas/cloth) or wet both sides of the paper before beginning the texture rubbing.

2.) Use several different colors and consistencies (darker colors for deep areas in texture)

The subtle textures in my finished composition were surprising, but still successful in accomplishing the goals of the challenge. Most importantly, the tactile process of rubbing the textures from the bark onto my paper brought be closer to the intricacies of the tree that I was studying. Here is my resulting composition:

For tomorrow’s challenge, we will explore with our other senses. Take a 20-30 minute walk. Breath in the air. Soak in the weather of the day. Follow smells. Look around at the colors, shapes, and textures around you. When you return from your adventure, use your watercolors to reflect on everything that your senses gathered.

‘Til tomorrow…happy explorations!

3 thoughts on “Nature Watercolor Challenge: DAY FIVE!

  1. Brilliant post. :^) When I was 6 years old and in first grade, the nun gave me a detention, making me stay after school for my “failure” to draw/color a fireplace with xmas stockings. It was so devastating I never wanted to make any kind of art after that. Now, 50 years later I am making art for the first time in a very long while and enjoying the heck out of it. Your posts bring such hope. Thank you for sharing your talent and kind how-to instructions. :^)

Leave a Reply

