Recycled “Aessemblage” Art of Scott Rolfe!

Glancing out my window on this bright sunny morning, the day seems full of possibilities! My view outside the window (particularly in Wyoming, it would seem) is a great metaphor for a Saturday morning! I mean, based on what I can SEE, I believe that if I were to step outside, the air would be a nice, balmy 70 degrees, with a light, comfortable breeze–sun soaking into my skin and making me feel fantastic inside and out! However, based on my previous experiences from a week full of teaching, I’m guessing that things might feel a little different–were I to step outside (which I plan to do after this post!). Perception is everything. Perception is, in fact, a big part of the creative process. Do you see the possibilities in things, or do you see nothing but waste, barriers…distractions?ย 

Today I want to introduce you to an artist who has explored the many possibilities of recycled found objects to create beautiful works of art! I was first introduced to Scott Rolfe’s work at the beginning of this month when I was browsing around a shop in Austin, Texas. I stumbled upon his book, “AESSEMBLAGE,” containing his beautiful found object illustrations of Aesop’s Fables. Here are a few examples of his work, found on his blog:

Image

Image

Image


His ability to transform and give life to found objects is fantastic! I urge you to check out Scott’s blog for more information about his creative process and work!ย 

And now…it’s Wonder Walk time!ย 

Happy Saturday! ๐Ÿ™‚ Make the most of your day!

9 thoughts on “Recycled “Aessemblage” Art of Scott Rolfe!

  1. Thanks so much for including my art in your blog, Tara! And like you mentioned, I also try to see the possibilities in all these overlooked and discarded things. It’s a lot of fun transforming them into something completely different, like the garlic press becoming a grasshopper abdomen!

    Looking forward to more of your thoughtful blog entries!

  2. Thank you for including Scott’s art on your blog. His mind works in mysterious ways and the resulting art is always intriguing. His found object work, which you feature, is of particular interest, and like you, I encourage your readers to explore Scott’s blog at http://srolfe.com/scottblog/

  3. Your posts always inspire and today’s is a delight, as always. :^) Making art is a fairly recent endeavor for me, although I have been an avid collector for many years. I would term what I create “assemblage” as well although my work isn’t anywhere near Scott’s exquisite artwork. Thank you so very much for posting Scott’s artwork, and for your words that are soul-food. :^)

    • Thanks for your kind words! Discovering beautiful works like Scott’s provides me with inspiration and motivation to push myself to new creative heights, so I enjoy sharing my findings with others! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I am so inspired by the work and writing on your blog, too–though I don’t comment as much as I should!

      Have a wonderful weekend! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

