Nature iPad Explorations: Color and Line

During my first week of the iPad nature art challenge, I discovered some wonderful apps to enhance explorations of color and line in nature. Here are a few of my favorites:

Color Vaccuum

True to its name, this is a great app to help explorers collect, and in the process discover, the wide array of colors in nature. If you’re wanting to create something, this isn’t that kind of app. However, your color discoveries can definitely inform future works of art. This app would be particularly useful in elementary art settings.

20131006-184422.jpg

Instagram

This popular social media app can be a great tool for nature photography explorations. This week, I used Instagram to document my explorations of fall colors.

20131006-185545.jpg

Pic Stitch

This is the last app I’ll mention for this particular portion of the ipad challenge. Pic stitch is the perfect tool for collecting and comparing images from observations and explorations. Here are a few shots from my line and color explorations:

20131006-190321.jpg

20131006-190339.jpg

20131006-190348.jpg

For the next week of ipad explorations, I will be focusing on iPads as a tool for recording observations. Cheers to another fantastic week of explorations!

5 thoughts on “Nature iPad Explorations: Color and Line

  1. I am so glad you’re doing some explorations with iPads! I’m hoping to get one this year and am wondering how I will use it with my art students. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

