Nature iPad Explorations: Recording Observations

During this second week of iPad explorations, I focused on the iPad as a tool for recording explorations and discoveries. Here are some of my favorite FREE apps from this week’s nature explorations:

Ink Flow

This was definitely one of my favorite apps for fomenting my questions and discoveries. I found that the pen control was much smoother than some other journal/sketchbook apps.

20131013-185202.jpg

Adobe Ideas

This was another great journal/sketchbook app. Pen control wasn’t quite as smooth, but I did like the ability to add photos into my notes.

20131013-185437.jpg

Shadow Pup

I saved the best for last! Shadow Pup is a great app for recording observations because it allows for voice explanations of pictures. I have used this app in my classroom as a way for students to talk about their work! Here’s a link to one of my recorded observations:

http://get-puppet.com/s/YlfyGcU7qOw?autoplay

There are many other wonderful apps for recording–some of which I will mention in weeks to come! If you have come across a great go-to app for recording observations, I’d love to hear about it! For next week, I will focus on the iPads ability to explore movement and change in nature! I’ll include some fun animation apps in my explorations!

‘Til later…happy explorations!

2 thoughts on “Nature iPad Explorations: Recording Observations

  1. I appreciate you sharing the slide show with voice on Shadow Puppet. I don’t have an iPad but hope someday I’ll get that far in my learning experience. In the meantime, I have friends I will suggest this to. I’m anxious to begin reviewing all I’ve missed in the past couple months. Take care and stay safe.

Leave a Reply

